The Board of the International Process Network met on the 6th April to ratify the award winners for the Young Scholars Award (YSA). The committee received 17 papers, from North America, South America, Europe, and Australasia–a truly international field. All the papers were triple-blind reviewed by the YSA committee (Mark Dibben, IPN Academic Director and Chair, Maria Teresa Teixeira, IPN Executive Director-elect and International Whitehead Conference 2017 Chair, and Lukasz Lamza, IPN Board Member), against the following criteria: relevance to the IWC 2017 conference theme; comprehension of the process philosophy/philosopher employed; novelty of the application (be this pure or applied); accuracy of the application; and extent of new knowledge arrived at.

The committee was impressed by the overall quality of the papers, and by the range of philosophers employed in them, i.e. not just Alfred North Whitehead, but for example Henri Bergson and William James also. It is clear that such a strong field bodes well for the future of Process Metaphysics in all its Philosophical, Theological and Applied Process Thought forms. The YSA awards two prizes, one for the best paper from a doctoral candidate regardless of age, and one for the best paper from an Early Career Researcher who is 35 years of age or less. We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Doctoral Candidate category is Alex Haitos (Texas A&M University), and the winner for the Early Career Researcher category is John Becker (Claremont School of Theology).

The Board of the International Process Network calls for papers on any topic in Process Philosophy or Applied Process Thought, for consideration for the Young Scholars Award. Papers relevant to conference tracks will also be considered separately for potential inclusion therein.

There will be two Young Scholars Awards. The first will be one awarded to a scholar whose age is 35 years or less. The second will be awarded to a scholar who, regardless of their age, is an Early Career Researcher, ie. one who has at the most already completed their doctoral research in process philosophy, that completion being no more than 3 years prior to the date of the submission of their paper. The award is therefore also open to students.

The deadline for submission of papers is January 31, 2017. The winners will be announced in February 2017 at the web-site of the IPN. The awards include coverage of airfare, housing accomodations, and conference fee for the 11th International Whitehead Conference in the Azores, as well as the publication of papers in the conference proceedings. The papers should be prepared for anonymous evaluation (with the data about the author on a separate sheet), no longer than 20 pages, and should be submitted electronically at the following e-mail address: Mark.Dibben@utas.edu.au